Domain Registry Support
Consumer Beware! I just got a call from a foreign lady with a shady company called “Domain Registry Support.” She said she needed my fax number to fax me a notification of recent changes made to my domain name. I happen to be the technical contact for that particular domain but I’m not the owner.
I wasn’t born yesterday so I kept quizzing this woman. I asked her several times how her company is related to mine since I’ve never done business with them. She said they provide domain name notifications. I asked her what the heck that means? She repeated the exact same statement. I asked her if they were my registrar. No. My hosting company? No. Well then—WHAT ARE YOU? A company that provides domain name notifications. I could have just about pulled my hair out—but I kept quizzing her.
I eventually got the phone number out of her and while I was still quizzing her as I googled the number. Their site pulled up (domainregistrysupport.com) and it’s a very basic site with no information about the company or their physical location. Just the toll-free number 800-875-7198. Other google results included this wiki that confirmed my suspicions. They are a shady company out to take advantage of the ignorant and naive. I greatly despise companies such as these. Remember—if it’s not your hosting company or your registrar contacting you, there is nothing to worry about. Don’t let companies like this intimidate you into giving out personal information, or even worse, signing you up for their services.
Google lists dozens of blogs from others who had the same or similar experience that I had.
Comments
Commenting is closed for this article.